What do Brett Favre, “Wayne’s World,” Crystal Pepsi, Barney the dinosaur and the Wisconsin Public Service (WPS) and We Energies peregrine falcon program have in common? They all made their debut in 1992!

To celebrate the peregrine falcon program’s 30th anniversary, WPS is throwing it back to the time of scrunchies, “The Golden Girls” and Kris Kross for its annual naming contest.

Get nostalgic and vote to name this year’s peregrine falcon chicks after some of the highlights from three decades ago.

The names of ’92 aren’t the only nest news to share. The first falcon chicks of the year are here, hatching in Oak Creek. The top names chosen in this year’s contest will be given to the chicks hatching at WPS and We Energies power plants across the state.


Choose from:

Scrunchie — in honor of the unique fashion sense of 1992.

LOL — in honor of the first text message ever sent.

Crystal — in honor of short-lived Crystal Pepsi, which made its debut in 1992.

Favre — in honor of Brett Favre’s first year with the Packers.

Golden — in honor of “The Golden Girls,” which aired its last episode in 1992.

Garth — in honor of “Wayne’s World,” which premiered in 1992.

Kris — in honor of the release of “Jump” by Kris Kross.

Dream — in honor of the 1992 gold-medal Dream Team.

Reality — in honor of the first season of “The Real World,” which kicked off the reality television craze.

Mario — in honor of the debut of “Super Mario Kart.”

Barney — in honor of everyone’s favorite purple dinosaur, who made his debut in 1992.

Leap — in honor of the leap year celebrated in 1992.

MOA — in honor of the Mall of America, which opened in 1992.

Mae — in honor of Mae Jemison, who traveled to space in 1992, making her the first African American woman in space.

Flannel — in honor of grunge music and its clothing style that became popular in 1992.

Jump — in honor of the debut of “Jump Around,” the Badgers rally song by House of Pain.

Whitney — in honor of “I Will Always Love You,” the best-selling song of 1992.


You can vote as many times as you want between now and Tuesday, May 10, to make sure your favorite names make the cut. Be sure to #SquawktheVote by sharing this link with all of your friends.